Cloning while they're multiplying
Fashion shoots with Beck and Hanson
Courtney Love, and Marilyn Manson
You're all fakes
Run to your mansions
Come around
We'll kick your ass in

Postby fury » Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:30 am

just curious to see whos a teacher on here. i just started a student teaching program for high school english. how was the start of your student teaching?
fury
ok

Postby grammatron » Wed Aug 24, 2011 8:29 am

I am a former teacher. I taught 8th grade reading briefly, then 9th, 10th, and 11th grade English for a few years. Student teaching was a breeze once I got going. Definitely get as much actual "teaching" time in as you can, because when you start a job you'll be thrown in the deep end. Having that experienced teacher there to help and critique what you're doing is worth a whole lot.
grammatron

Postby droctagon2000 » Wed Aug 24, 2011 11:49 am

Going into my 7th year, high school English (pretty much done all subjects, ESL, AP, etc.)

Totally agree that you should get as much actual teaching time as you can.

Also, try experimenting/finding out what feels right/is creative for you. Good thing about student teaching is you're not the teacher of record so you can go off course if you want because the guiding teacher won't let you mess up too badly.

Same goes (to a slightly lesser extent) your first year teaching since you can pull the new teacher card. But after that you've got to act like a bonafide, know-what-you're-doing teacher.
droctagon2000

Postby Science » Wed Aug 24, 2011 11:58 am

I teach English in Korea. Probably too different an experience to relate much to teaching in the states. i'm pretty much an expert on student management by now though. I taught a class of 10 2nd graders to follow me around in military formation.
Science
Prometheus sucks.

Postby important dentist » Wed Aug 24, 2011 12:00 pm